>Facebook blinks…for now.

>Facebook apparently has gotten the message that its users will not allow things posted to their profiles to be used for advertising purposes–even after deleting their accounts.

According to an article on CNN.com:

The site posted a brief message on users’ home pages that said it was returning to its previous “Terms of Use” policy “while we resolve the issues that people have raised.”

What issues do they need to resolve, I’m not sure. But, all I know that from now on, members will have to keep a watchful eye on Facebook and similar websites that claim to have its membership’s best interest at heart.

Moreover, Facebook’s blatant contempt of privacy should also serve as an opportunity to push to Internet uses to read Terms of Use agreements on any online social networking group they choose to join. Thanks to a mishap with installing a program onto my old computer that included adware, I’ve always made it a point to read many agreements on sites from which I’m downloading programs, creating a username and password, etc.

Sure, these agreements are filled with legalese and other forms of jargon, but I’d take having to check the dictionary or thesaurus numerous times rather than having my right to privacy violated because I was too lazy to read a contract before signing.

Your turn.